Rav's guide to fleet arena
From what I can tell the single most important component of a ship is its pilot. A fully geared, max level 7* pilot with max lvl mk5 mods makes up to 9k of the ship’s power. When choosing which ships to perue, also consider how you will develop their pilots.
I Use Ackbar as my admiral, was the best char I had at the time. I think Mace is probably the best admiral in the game but I won’t be writing about strategies that involve him as I have very little first-hand experience.

Lvl’ing shipps is hard work. The currency is scarce and they eat up loads of it. It’s best to give priority to adding stars to your ships over sinking cash in their lvl if you have to choose. Stars increase the pilot contribution, which we discussed is significant. When lvl’ing look at what squad you use. Don’t sink everything into one ship as higher lvls cost more, most bang for buck is probably in keeping the shipps you use on near-even footing. You can have 5 lvl 70 ships, or one lvl 85 one.
The next most important part of a ship is it’s skill package. I cannot stress enough how important it is to study this. Not just read, study. You have to know by heart which ship inflicts target lock with which attack, and what benefits what skill take from target lock.

Skill use in battle is what most of your strategy will come to. There is a lot of synergy to be had from even a small pool of ships. I use Biggs a lot, personally. With biggs its all about landing target lock on someone. Every time that happens he taunts and regains protection. The job of the rest of the squad then becomes killing of the enemy, keeping biggs alive either with buffs and healing, or by landing target lock on enemy ships. Note that for some glitch reason, his ability sometimes fails to trigger for no reason. I hope that will be fixed soon, but even with it being less then 100% reliable the strat works for me.