The Unibomber
Back in the days of UO, I had a character named "Ted Kaczynski" -- the unibomber.

One of the great thing about UO was all the stuff you could do with the crafting system. I was a lumberjack so I could chop down trees. I was a carpenter so I could turn wood into boxes. I was an alchemist so I could make potions and I was a tinkerer so I could use those potions to make traps in the boxes.

In UO, it was entirely possible to accidentally drop something on the ground, or worse, die and drop EVERYTHING on the ground. If you accidentally dropped your wallet on the ground in UO, there was a 99% chance someone would snatch it up and run away cackling with their free loot.

I took advantage of this.

I would go into town and drop a box. Oops! Clumsy me! You'd think that once in a while someone would helpfully snatch it up and then hand it back and say, "Hey pal, you dropped this." That never happened.

Instead, they took the box and opened it to see what prizes they had won. When the unibomber drops a box, the only prize inside is your imminent explosive death.

Once people started realizing that if I dropped a box, it was best to not open it, I decided to turn to other methods. I would drop a box in a store and then use the "hide" skill to hide in the corner. Someone would wander in, see a box on the floor and nobody else in the room, pick it up and blamo! I would sometimes go outside of town and leave a chest in the middle of the road, but half the time the person would just pick it up and keep walking, presumably opening it and exploding somewhere else later on. Next, I started trapping chests in the dungeons, which couldn't be picked up or moved. With the "hide" skill, I could stand hidden beside a chest and trap it.

Sometimes people would search the chest for traps and disarm it. Since I was hidden right there, I would trap it again. They would open the box and blamo! And then I'd take all their stuff.