The Purge

PvP for People Who Aren't Asshats
It is currently Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:06 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 9:21 pm
Posts: 1012
Location: Canandaigua, New York
These are the new parts I'm thinking of upgrading. I'll be reusing my old case, monitor, PSU, heatsink, 500g HD, optical drive, mouse and keyboard. A smoking, pretty much brand new computer for less than $1000?! Badass. I just hope I can convince the wife.

Anything I'm overlooking?

CPU: 3570k
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819116504
MoBo: Z77
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813130643
GPU: 660ti
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814121656
RAM: 8gb DDR3 1600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231445
SSD: 120g Samsung
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820147188
OS: Win7 Pro 64
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6832116992


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:28 pm 
Offline
Hail to the King
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 10:35 am
Posts: 16900
Location: Cimmeria
If you can spare the cash, consider a larger SSD -- 240 GB would be enough for Windows and a solid selection of games. (120 GB is going to get tight quick if you use it as a C drive plus games.) You'd be amazed how much faster OS and apps load up from an SSD.

_________________
If it bleeds, we can kill it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:59 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:35 am
Posts: 2090
Location: Seattle, WA
+1 to Slamz' suggestion.

What all do you use comp for? Normal use + some gaming? If more, such as heavy video/photo editing, I'd suggest more RAM - 12GB-24GB.

Also, there are a number of performance upgrades in Win8. If you don't want to deal with Win8 tiles and such, I'd suggest getting Win8 plus these two programs, both by Stardock:

Start8 - http://www.stardock.com/products/start8/
This adds the Start button back, with additional features such as removing all corner hotspots, boot directly to desktop, etc. With this app, you don't ever have to see the Start Tiles screen.

ModernMix - http://www.stardock.com/products/modernmix/
If there do happen to be a few Win8 Apps that you use, this program forces the apps to be opened in a windows on your desktop, just like all other applications, so you aren't forced into Full-Screen apps, nor forced back to the Win8 Tiles screen.

With these two StarDock apps, Win8 acts exactly like Win7 (no tiles, no start screen, none of that), and you get all of the other performance and feature upgrades (like tighter integration into other Windows devices (Xbox360, phone, etc.)).

_________________
~ The Duskwood Gankster ~
WoW & Beyond: Grizzle / Grizol
EQ/SB: Rafkin / Kriticos / Dudain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:56 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:27 pm
Posts: 6123
get different ram and more of it.
Corsair, Patriot, Crucial are excellent brands

Cas Latency 8 is SLOW for gaming. You should try and find CAS 6. LOWER = faster response.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cas_latency

_________________
Did you ever hear the tragedy of Darth EA The Greed? I thought not. It’s not a story other Developers would tell you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:07 pm 
Offline
Officer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:21 am
Posts: 3883
Location: Warren, NJ
CL6 memory is *expensive* at 1600MHz (if you can find it at all). I got these Corsair CL7 sticks for my Z77 system:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=20-233-254

-ken

_________________
Naval Action: Taralin Snow, Snowy Iggles
EQ2: Snowreap, Yellowtail, Taralin, Disruption, Preyz, Taralynne, Snowy, Snowz
ESO: Snowreap, Yellowtail
PS2: Snowreap
GW2: Snowreap, Yellowtail, Preyz, Taralin, Taralynne
RIFT: Snowreap, Yellowtail, Preyz, Taralin, Snowy
PotBS (British): Taralin Snow, Taralynne Snow, Snowy Iggles, Edward Snow
PotBS (Pirate): Taralin Snowden, Taralynne Snowden, Redshirt Snowden
WW2O: Snowreap
WAR: Snowreap, Preyz, Lbz, Leadz, Snowz, Taralin, Snowmeltz, Yellowtail, Snowbankz
APB: Snowreap, Sentenza
STO: Snowreap@Snowreap, Snowz@Snowreap
AoC: Yellowtail, Snowreap, Snowstorm, Redshirt
WoW (Horde): Snowreap, Savagery, Baelzenun, Wickedwendy, Taralin, Disruption, Scrouge, Bette
WoW (Alliance): Yellowtail, Wickedwendy, Snowreap
AC1: Snowstorm, Yellowtail, Shirt Ninja, Redshirt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:25 pm 
Offline
Officer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 11:39 am
Posts: 3606
Get the biggest SSD drive you can afford.

_________________
Skelas

Burnt to a crisp.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 11:00 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:27 pm
Posts: 6123
Skelas wrote:
Get the biggest SSD drive you can afford.


u dont need a big SSD. U need an SSD that can store windows, program files & your active 2-5 games you are playing. Other media like pictures/video/crap can be stored on a slower 2ndary conventional drive that is much cheaper per GB

_________________
Did you ever hear the tragedy of Darth EA The Greed? I thought not. It’s not a story other Developers would tell you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade
PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:21 pm 
Offline
Hail to the King
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 10:35 am
Posts: 16900
Location: Cimmeria
Yeah, with Windows 7, at least, it's pretty easy to have your C drive on an SSD but move all of your document folders to a different drive (or just don't use document folders).


Right click your "My Music" folder for example and you can go to "Properties" and the "Location" tab and move it. Windows will move all of the existing contents to the new location and Bob's your uncle. No need to have a bunch of personal files on the SSD (my music folder is 15 GB so that was a good chunk of my 128 GB SSD before I moved it all).

_________________
If it bleeds, we can kill it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade
PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 3:04 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 9:21 pm
Posts: 1012
Location: Canandaigua, New York
Good suggestions guys. Thanks. I will get a 256g and the faster Corsair RAM. Still unsure about 8.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade
PostPosted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:40 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:27 pm
Posts: 6123
http://reviews.cnet.co.uk/software-and- ... -50009546/

Heres what I do to make Win8 usable for my clients and make it operate like Win7
I install Classic Shell, Skip Metro software and do the 'stop metro from opening files' fixe

_________________
Did you ever hear the tragedy of Darth EA The Greed? I thought not. It’s not a story other Developers would tell you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 12:40 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 9:21 pm
Posts: 1012
Location: Canandaigua, New York
The upgrade went pretty dang well. A few minor hiccups (old heat sink didn't fit, trouble transferring profiles for Mozilla, logitec and teamspeak) but nothing too bad. It's running cool and ridiculously fast. Very happy.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group